The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    Davidson College
  Dec 13, 2017

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees (As of January 2009)



Davidson College is governed by a Board of Trustees. Twenty-four of the Trustees represent the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), sixteen of which are confirmed by the presbyteries within the State of North Carolina, and eight at-large from the national membership. Twelve are elected at-large by the Trustees themselves and eight by the alumni. In addition, five members of the Board serve ex officio, including the President-elect and President of the National Alumni Association, the Chair and Past Chair of the Board of Visitors, and the President of the College.

Mackey J. McDonald, Chair
Chairman, VF Corporation


Greensboro, North Carolina

Amelia C. Taylor, Vice Chair


Wilmington, North Carolina

Debbie Dillon Darden, Secretary
Homemaker, Retired Educator


Charlotte, North Carolina


Robert J. Abernethy, President, Standard Development Company — Redondo Beach, California

Carlos E. Alvarez, Chief Executive Officer, The Gambrinus Company — San Antonio, Texas

Robert L. Avinger, Jr., Retired Chairman, OPT Capital, LLC — Davidson, North Carolina

Sarah P. Boehmler, Retired Executive Vice President, American Stock Exchange — Davidson, North Carolina

Kristin Hills Bradberry, Endowment Campaign Director, Arts & Science Council — Charlotte, North Carolina

Susan Brown, Homemaker — Dallas, Texas

Ann Hayes Browning, Project Director, The Carolina Thread Trail — Charlotte, North Carolina

Lowell L. Bryan, Director, McKinsey & Company, Inc. — New York, New York

M. Erwin Carter, President, Newbold Corporation — Lithonia, Georgia

John W. Chidsey, III, Chief Executive Officer, Burger King Corporation — Miami, Florida

Howard W. Covington, Jr., Partner, Covington/Tutman Properties ­— Greenville, South Carolina

Robert E. Dunham, Pastor, University Presbyterian Church — Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Elisabeth C. Ervin, Retired Educator, Community Leader — Morganton, North Carolina

Virginia Taylor Evans — Director of Christain Education, Second Presbyterian Church — Richmond, Virginia

W. Wyche Fowler, Jr., President, Wyche Fowler International — Washington, D.C.

Anthony R. Foxx, City Council, At-Large, City of Charlotte — Charlotte, North Carolina

Beverly S. Hance, Community Leader, Private Investor — Charlotte, North Carolina

Lawrence M. Kimbrough, President Emeritus, First Charter Corporation — Charlotte, North Carolina

R. Edward Kizer, Retired — Denver, North Carolina

Anne Hurt Krieg, Homemaker, Community Volunteer — McLean, Virginia

J. Gilmour Lake, Retired Former Owner and Chief Executive Officer, Computer Credit, Inc. — Winston-Salem, North Carolina

S. Sherburne Laughlin, Assistant Professor and Director, Arts Management Program, American University — Bethesda, Maryland

Paul R. Leonard, Jr., Chairman Emeritus, Habitat for Humanity International — Davidson, North Carolina

Gary S. Long, President and Chief Operating Officer, Investcorp Bank BSC — Manoma, Kingdom of Bahrain, and London, United Kingdom

Elizabeth Brooks Mailander, Vice President Corporate Communications, Iridium Satellite — Arlington, Virginia

Prem Manjooran, Senior Vice President, The Capital Group — Los Angeles, California

Susan F. McAvoy, Director/Public Interest Advisor, Emory University School of Law — Atlanta, Georgia

John V. McClure, Banker, The Northern Trust Bank — Winnetka, Illinois

Calvin E. Murphy, North Carolina Superior Court Judge, Superior Court of North Carolina — Charlotte, North Carolina

Maria M. Patterson, Senior Counsel, Diamond McCarthy LLP — New York, New York

George D. Penick, Jr., Head Master, St. Andrews Episcopal — Ridgeland, Mississippi

William L. Rikard, Jr., Partner/Attorney, Parker, Poe, Adams & Bernstein — Charlotte, North Carolina

Patricia A. Rodgers, President & Chief Executive Officer, Rodgers Builders, Inc. — Charlotte, North Carolina

Thomas W. Ross, President, Davidson College — Davidson, North Carolina

Stephen L. Salyer, President and Chief Executive Officer, Salzburg Global Seminar — Silver Spring, Maryland

E. Follin Smith, Director, Ryder Systems — Conestoga, Pennsylvania

Arnold H. Snider, Retired General Partner, Deerfield Management — Princeton, New Jersey

Laura M. Spangler, Pastor, Lloyd Presbyterian Church — Winston-Salem, North Carolina

R. David Sprinkle, Retired President and Chief Executive Officer, The Todd Organization — Greensboro, North Carolina

Samuel V. Tallman, Retired Partner, Knight, Tallman & Co., LLC — Saint Petersburg, Florida

Todd S. Thomson, Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Headwaters Capital, LLC, Ripplewood Holdings, LLC — New York, New York

Lawrence H. Wilkinson, Chairman, Heminge & Condell — San Fransisco, California

Benjamin F. Williams, Jr. — Charlotte, North Carolina

Carolann C. Willingham, 401(K) Specialist, Fidelity Investments — Raleigh, North Carolina

Janet H. Wilson, Community Leader — Lenoir, North Carolina

H. Linton Wray, Medical Director, CareFirst Blue Cross/Blue Shield — Chevy Chase, Maryland