Jun 18, 2024  

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees (As of January 2011)


Davidson College is governed by a Board of Trustees. Twenty-four of the Trustees represent the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), sixteen of which are confirmed by the presbyteries within the State of North Carolina, and eight at-large from the national membership. Twelve are elected at-large by the Trustees themselves and eight by the alumni. In addition, five members of the Board serve ex officio, including the President-elect and President of the National Alumni Association, the Chair and Past Chair of the Board of Visitors, and the President of the College.

Mackey J. McDonald, Chair
Retired Chairman, VF Corporation


Greensboro, North Carolina

John W. Chidsey III, Vice Chair
Co-Chairman, Burger King Corporation


Miami, Florida

Ann Hayes Browning, Secretary
Project Director, The Carolina Thread Trail


Charlotte, North Carolina

Robert J. Abernethy, President, American Standard Development Company — Redondo Beach, California

Edward M. Armfield, Jr., Principal and Owner, Black Point Limited — Winston-Salem, North Carolina

Thompson S. Baker II, President and Chief Executive Officer, Patriot Transportation Holding, Inc. — Jacksonville, Florida

Richard N. Boyce, Associate Professor of Preaching and Pastoral Leadership, Union - PSCE — Belmont, North Carolina

Kristin Hills Bradberry, Strategic Advisor to Nonprofits — Charlotte, North Carolina

F. Cooper Brantley, Attorney, Nexsen, Pruet, Adams and Kleemeir — Greensboro, North Carolina

Robert B. Cordle, Attorney, Mayer Brown, LLP — Charlotte, North Carolina

Edward Rhyne Davis, Vice President and Co-Chairman, S & D Coffee — Charlotte, North Carolina

C. Edward Dobbs, Partner/Attorney, Parker, Hudson, Rainer and Dobbs ­— Atlanta, Georgia

Virginia Taylor Evans, Director of Christian Education, Second Presbyterian Church — Richmond, Virginia

Mark W. Filipski, Investment Banker and Managing Director, Credit Suisse — Short Hills, New Jersey

Anthony R. Foxx, Mayor of Charlotte and Deputy General Counsel, DesignLine Corporation — Charlotte, North Carolina

J. Chrisman Hawk III, General Surgeon and President, Charleston Surgical Associates — Charleston, South Carolina

Earl J. Hesterberg, President and Chief Executive Officer, Group 1 Automotive — Houston, Texas

R. Edward Kizer, Retired — Denver, North Carolina

Anne Hurt Krieg, Homemaker, Community Volunteer — McLean, Virginia

John W. Kuykendall, Interim President, Davidson College — Davidson, North Carolina

J. Gilmour Lake, Retired Former Owner and Chief Executive Officer, Computer Credit, Inc. — Winston-Salem, North Carolina

S. Sherburne Laughlin, Assistant Professor and Director, Arts Management Program, American University — Bethesda, Maryland

William M. Lear, Jr., Attorney, Stoll Keenon Ogden — Lexington, Kentucky

Gary S. Long, Partner, Pulse Capital Partners — New York, New York

Elizabeth Brooks Mailander  — Arlington, Virginia

Prem Manjooran, Senior Vice President, The Capital Group — Los Angeles, California

Allison Hall Mauzé, Retired Vice President, JP Morgan, Community Volunteer —Mill Valley, California

Andrew J. McElwee, Jr, Executive Vice President, Chubb & Son, Chief Operating Officer, Chubb Personal Insurance — Mendham Township, New Jersey

Robert J. Miller, Independent Investor — Charlotte, North Carolina

Calvin E. Murphy, Judge, Superior Court of North Carolina — Charlotte, North Carolina

Marian McGowan Nisbet, President, Interiors Unlimited — Charlotte, North Carolina

Thomas W. Okel, Retired, Bank of America, Merrill Lynch — Charlotte, North Carolina

Sara Tatum Pottenger, Homemaker, Community Volunteer — Durham, North Carolina

Eleanor Knobloch Ratchford, Homemaker, Community Volunteer — Atlanta, Georgia

Ernest W. Reigel, Chair and Attorney, Moore & Van Allen — Charlotte, North Carolina

William L. Rikard, Jr., Partner/Attorney, Parker, Poe, Adams and Bernstein — Charlotte, North Carolina

Stephen L. Salyer, President and Chief Executive Officer, Salzburg Global Seminar — Silver Spring, Maryland

Susan Casper Shaffner, Pediatrician, Charlotte Pediatric Clinic — Charlotte, North Carolina

Mitzi Short, Vice President and General Manager, PepsiCo Supervalu — Oak Park, Illinois

E. Follin Smith, Retired Chief Financial Officer and Chief Administrative Officer, Constellation Energy Group, Inc. — Conestoga, Pennsylvania

Arnold H. Snider, Retired General Partner, Deerfield Management — Princeton, New Jersey

Laura Michael Spangler, Pastor, Lloyd Presbyterian Church — Winston-Salem, North Carolina

R. David Sprinkle, Retired President and Chief Executive Officer, The Todd Organization — Greensboro, North Carolina

Samuel V. Tallman, Jr., Seminarian — New York, New York

John B. Teague, Director Institutional Relationship, Bank of America — Charlotte, North Carolina

Todd S. Thomson, Chairman, Dynasty Financial Partners — New York, New York

Carole M. Weinstein, Vice Chair, Weinstein Properties — Richmond, Virginia

Benjamin F. Williams, Jr., Consultant, Spencer Stuart — Charlotte, North Carolina

Janet Hostetter Wilson, Community Volunteer — Lenoir, North Carolina