May 25, 2024  
2018-2019 Catalog 
2018-2019 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees (As of January 2018)


Davidson College is governed by a Board of Trustees composed of between thirty and forty-five members. Four members are elected by the alumni and five members serve ex officio (the President-elect and President of the National Alumni Association, the Chair and Immediate Past Chair of the Board of Visitors, and the President of the college). The balance of members are elected by the trustees themselves. At least twenty-five percent of the board members will be a member or an affiliate of a Presbyterian Church (USA) congregation.  

John W. Chidsey III ‘83, Chair
Private Investor


Coral Gables, Florida

Andrew J. McElwee, Jr. ‘77, Vice Chair
President and Chief Operating Officer, Homesite Insurance


South Sutton, New Hampshire

Thomas W. Okel ‘84, Secretary
Executive Director, Catawba Lands Conservancy


Charlotte, North Carolina

Carlos Alvarez, Chariman and Chief Executive Officer, The Gambrinus Company - San Antonio, Texas

David Waller Barnard ‘79, Retired - Wellesley Hills, Massachusetts 

Richard N. Boyce ‘77, Academic Dean and Associate Professor of Preaching and Pastoral Leadership, Union - PSCE - Belmont, North Carolina

Lowell L. Bryan ‘68, Director Emeritus, McKinsey & Company - Key Largo, Florida

Jarred Cochran ‘03, Director, Wells Fargo Securities - Charlotte, North Carolina

Kenneth S. Crews ‘70, Senior Adviser, Greenhill & Co., Inc. - Dallas, Texas

Laurie L. Dunn ‘77, Medical Monitor, Paidion - Raleigh, North Carolina

Jay Everette, Senior Vice President of Government and Community Affairs, Wells Fargo - Charlotte, North Carolina

Mark W. Filipski, Investment Banker and Managing Director, Credit Suisse - Short Hills, New Jersey

Anthony Foxx ‘93, Managing Partner and Founder, Related Infrastructure - Bethesda, Maryland

Yvette Pita Frampton ‘95, Documentary Filmmaker - Denver, Colorado

Lewis F. Galloway ‘73, Senior Pastor, Second Presbyterian Church - Indianapolis, Indiana

Dylan Glenn ‘91, Senior Managing Director, Guggenheim Partners, LLC - Washington, District of Columbia

David Hall ‘84, President, Hallmark - Mission  Hills, Kansas

Beverly Smith Hance, Community Volunteer - Charlotte, North Carolina

J. Chrisman Hawk III ‘67, General Surgeon, Roper St. Francis Physician Partners - Charleston, South Carolina

Adrian Darnell Johnson ‘00, Director of Fixed Income Sales and Trading, Wells Fargo - Charlotte, North Carolina

Ken Krieg ‘83, Founder, Samford Global Strategies - McLean, Virginia

John C. Laughlin ‘85, Head of Mergers/Acquisitions, Wells Fargo Securities - Charlotte, North Carolina

Mary Tabb Mack ‘84,  Head of Community Banking, Wells Fargo - Fort Mill, SC

Steve MacMillan ‘85, Chief Executive Officer, Hologic - Rancho Santa Fe, California

Alison Hall Mauzé ‘84, Community Volunteer - Mill Valley, California

Cintra Pollack ‘99, Manager, Race Street Management - Denver, Colorado 

Sara Tatum Pottenger ‘79, Community Volunteer - Durham, North Carolina

Carol E. Quillen, President, Davidson College - Davidson, North Carolina

Eleanor Knobloch Ratchford ‘84, Community Volunteer - Atlanta, Georgia

William P. Reed, Jr. ‘76, Retired - Davidson, North Carolina

Ernest W. Reigel ‘80, Chair and Attorney, Moore & Van Allen - Charlotte, North Carolina

Virginia McGee Richards ‘85, Environment Law Attorney and Environmental Consultant - Charlotte, North Carolina

Pat Rodgers, President and Chief Executive Officer, Rodgers Builders - Charlotte, North Carolina

Andrew J. Schwab ‘93, Founder and Managing Partner, 5AM Ventures - San Francisco, California

Susan Casper Shaffner ‘80, Pediatrician, Charlotte Pediatric Clinic - Charlotte, North Carolina

Mitzi Short ‘83, Co-Founder and Managing Partner, New Season Coaching and Consulting Group - Oak Park, Illinois

Benjamin R. Wall II ‘98, Co-Founder and Managing Partner, WJ Partners, LLC - Spartanburg, South Carolina

Carole M. Weinstein, Vice Chair, Weinstein Properties - Richmond, Virginia

Joel Williamson ‘67, Partner and Head of the Tax Controversy Department, Mayer Brown LLP - Chicago, Illinois

William Winkenwerder, Jr. ‘76, Physician and Prominent Leader in Health Care - Mill Neck, New York